Birthday Cake

This weekend, in the midst of family activities, I forgot that two of my friends were celebrating their birthdays.  Distracted by taking four children to a Atlanta Braves game, I let it slip my mind that I should also be celebrating my friends.  It is amazing how busy our lives now are, and how easily we move from one activity to the next.

This morning I stopped to think about birthday celebrations and the often fun and bonding experience of cake making.  Instead of pulling out my step-ladder to get the cookbooks off the top shelf, I googled a few appliance companies and their cake recipes.

I know that Robin likes cheesecake and Patricia is a fan of pineapple upside-down cake. On the Viking site, I found a recipe for a cake with a summer flavor, Pina Colada Cheese Cake.  Viking has a useful section on their site called “The Viking Life’ that is a cooking and recipe resource for their customers.

Viking did not have a recipe for pineapple upside-down cake however; I did learn through this process that the word “cake “ is of Viking origin; from the Old Norse word kaka.  I found a number of recipes for the cake on Aga sites as demo recipes.  My favorite way to cook a pineapple upside-down cake is in a cast iron skillet.  Enjoy this  fun easy recipe on the Inn Cuisine site.  Happy belated birthday to Robin and Patricia.

Comments are closed.

